Paul McBeth - Near Ace - Wedges Into Side of Basket - 476 Foot Hole!

233 158 Näkymät

Paul McBeth is just inches from the disc golf hole in one on the 476 foot, par 3, hole number 5.
This was shot during the live broadcast of the 2017 Ledgestone Insurance Open presented by Discraft.

  • urinatingtree

    Raymond JakeRaymond JakeUukausi sitten
  • Hate that.. Done it to many times

    Jacob Harrington -CoCorKillerJacob Harrington -CoCorKillerUukausi sitten
  • We’d play that as an ace!!!

    M PM PUukausi sitten
  • Paul misses destroyers

    DiscGolfer93DiscGolfer93Uukausi sitten
  • What? Just give it to the poor guy

    K'apliel DK'apliel DUukausi sitten
  • Guess he should have thrown it a little harder 😂

    Drew PearsonDrew PearsonUukausi sitten
    • And then the disc would been landing OB far behind the basket, instead of THAT close to a ace! And then NOBODY would talk about it! LOL

      GramaldGramaldUukausi sitten
  • Leave it in the sun for a little bit, then put it under a stack of wide books/textbooks. It will take any sort of warp away

    Reid KempReid KempUukausi sitten
  • This has to be my favorite hole to watch pros play

    Dustin ClossinDustin ClossinUukausi sitten
  • So, is this scored as a 2?

    Karch Dah-VeedKarch Dah-VeedUukausi sitten
    • Yes

      Theodor Hesselberg LorentzenTheodor Hesselberg LorentzenUukausi sitten
  • that would count with the new rules in 2020

    Trevor MorriceTrevor MorriceUukausi sitten
  • Those only count on Tuesdays.

    flyingfishsurfflyingfishsurfUukausi sitten
  • how stupid. haha

    Kevin MKevin MUukausi sitten
  • I don't know see how that is not an ace. If it is that far wedged in the trapper from the inside out you call it one. Weather it goes over the rim or not. What would you call it if it went through the trapper and rested in it? I say if it is stuck in the side or resting in the trapper it's in the hole.

    JodabroJodabroUukausi sitten
  • Yeah, me & my buddies would have called that an ace if play, never seen it happen before so didn’t know the rule

    MikeMikeUukausi sitten
  • This has happened to me on the fly and skipped. Yikes!

    Stephen PartainStephen PartainUukausi sitten
  • I know nothing about this game.. that’s not an ace?

    TheWhatYouNeedTheWhatYouNeedUukausi sitten
    • nah it has to go over the rim of the basket

      ForgdForgdUukausi sitten
  • And if we just stuck with tonals that would have been a ringer

    CAN ControlCAN ControlUukausi sitten
  • So stupid. I don’t care if it’s a million dollar tourney. The disk was half inside the basket, that’s an ace. That’s why this game is for pussies.

    Colin SoileauColin SoileauUukausi sitten
  • Is this hard or something? 🤔

    TraumaERTraumaERUukausi sitten
  • “Paul McBeth” is such a disc golf guy sounding name lol

    All-Time AlienAll-Time AlienUukausi sitten
    • Kyle Brady ok maby 46

      SoyBoyGamingSoyBoyGamingUukausi sitten
    • @SoyBoyGaming yes you're on drugs if you think PMcB looks 50

      Kyle BradyKyle BradyUukausi sitten
    • @Jarrett why he look 50 when he 30? disc golf involve drugs yes?

      SoyBoyGamingSoyBoyGamingUukausi sitten
    • sounds like a shakespear play actually

      JarrettJarrettUukausi sitten
  • I had a disc go all the way through the cage does that count?

    Charles SeifertCharles SeifertUukausi sitten
    • No, must break the plane between the top of the basket and the top of the cage and come to rest supported by the basket/chains

      A Happy CoderA Happy CoderUukausi sitten
  • That year of star destroyers Though

    Wes WarrenWes WarrenUukausi sitten
  • That should count, it stuck, didn't leave the basket.

    CalypsoNotch408CalypsoNotch408Uukausi sitten
  • Dude... Is that common for guys that throw that fast? I've never seen it happen; I suck so no surprise for me but my buds are pretty good and dedicated. Still never saw one stick in the basket like that.

    lawrence shadowlawrence shadowUukausi sitten
    • Pretty common for the top pros to throw that fast, or close. McBeth is among the elite disc golfers in any imaginable category. For a normal player, not common at all. I can't even throw a backhand 300 feet.

      PapigringoPapigringoUukausi sitten
  • one punch man

    melissa brummermelissa brummerUukausi sitten
  • I feel like that should have been an ace

    matt taylormatt taylorUukausi sitten
    • @Gramald ?

      Bradley NormandinBradley Normandin20 päivää sitten
    • You, and almost all the girls, that live by their feelings, i bet! ;)

      GramaldGramaldUukausi sitten
    • Yeah I thought the PDGA definition of a completed shot was that it has come to rest on the chains or the basket, and I’m pretty sure that disc was resting on the basket 😂

      Bradley NormandinBradley NormandinUukausi sitten
  • This actually happened to me this year. I couldn’t believe it

    Tory CaswellTory CaswellUukausi sitten
  • What in the fuck

    Bum BagzBum BagzUukausi sitten
  • Still the best and classiest of all time.

    Robert MerriottRobert MerriottUukausi sitten
  • Looks like he got the CTP at least...

    Marik 444Marik 444Uukausi sitten
  • Ft that’s an ace. That rule sucks

    Peter aldrichPeter aldrichUukausi sitten
    • No longer a rule

      Monte CheathamMonte CheathamUukausi sitten
  • Just think all you have to be is filming this guy to make thousands and money I knew it too

    joshuwhajoshuwha2 kuukautta sitten
  • Fault... he was touching the disc when it hit the chain

    lamontshandylamontshandy2 kuukautta sitten
    • I would've died if they penalized him for that.

      Joshua WaddellJoshua WaddellUukausi sitten
  • Would it have counted if it sqeezed through or is there a rule that it must go into, not through the basket? :P

    SvampmolnSvampmoln2 kuukautta sitten
    • The pic you describe shows the disc going in the basket and getting stuck on the way out

      wbryant81wbryant81Uukausi sitten
    • @Monte Cheatham watch and stop embarrassing yourself

      wbryant81wbryant81Uukausi sitten
    • @wbryant81 actually nope again they have a graphic that shows a shot just like this would count

      Monte CheathamMonte CheathamUukausi sitten
    • @Monte Cheatham Nope. recent rules say it has to enter basket first and then if it hangs its ok.

      wbryant81wbryant81Uukausi sitten
    • @wbryant81 nope recent PDGA rules would count that

      Monte CheathamMonte CheathamUukausi sitten
  • Lol

    Zack SherryZack Sherry2 kuukautta sitten
  • illegal tap-in.. just sayin

    WalfredoWalfredo2 kuukautta sitten
    • @Marik 444 Yea, touched chains before release

      WalfredoWalfredoUukausi sitten
    • Nah, he marked it.

      Marik 444Marik 444Uukausi sitten
  • What's the point...

    Edward GribbleEdward Gribble2 kuukautta sitten
    • Because probably 1% of disc golfers, or fewer can even throw that far. And a disc getting stuck like this barely ever happens, ever.

      Jason SiemensJason SiemensUukausi sitten
  • So no ace and a taco’d disc. All in a good day’s work

    Caleb WilliamsCaleb Williams2 kuukautta sitten
    • VIDEOsverigeNU to some degree yes. The aerodynamics of the disc completely change, even with it only mildly taco’d

      Caleb WilliamsCaleb WilliamsUukausi sitten
    • So if yr disc is a tiny tiny bit taco'ed, does it impact yr throws a lot? Im asking cuz im a beginner.

      VIDEOsverigeNUVIDEOsverigeNUUukausi sitten
    • That’s far from work

      CAN ControlCAN ControlUukausi sitten
  • I've said it for years, but the rule should be changed so that as long as the disc is held in a stable position off the ground by the basket, it counts. This should have been an ace.

    seymourglass26seymourglass262 kuukautta sitten
    • @Dan Lewis Or saying that the puck resting on the outside net of the goal should count because from above its "inside" the goal.

      Naughty PrincessNaughty Princess2 kuukautta sitten
    • The shot was lower than basket rim, the entire disc is not in the basket, no way should it count. That's like saying in hockey if half the puck is over the goal line it's a goal.

      Dan LewisDan Lewis2 kuukautta sitten
  • Paul was just like "Man, that was my favorite Destroyer."

    Evan PilkingtonEvan Pilkington2 kuukautta sitten
  • That's atleast a half ace, i mean, half of it was in the basket

    Iiro OvaskainenIiro Ovaskainen2 kuukautta sitten
    • @Iiro Ovaskainen Yeah in football (NFL) only a portion of the ball must break the plane in order for a score.

      Bradley NormandinBradley Normandin20 päivää sitten
    • @Pumpthetune Man well, the puck is not half in the goal, it's just fully on the wrong side of the net.

      Iiro OvaskainenIiro OvaskainenUukausi sitten
    • From the side of the basket tho.. a puck laying behind the goal on the net in hockey isnt a half goal ;)

      Pumpthetune ManPumpthetune ManUukausi sitten
  • Hey, its lake pioria

    Deegan LindseyDeegan Lindsey2 kuukautta sitten
  • For the rest of the world, that's a 145 meter hole.

    Jukka58Jukka582 kuukautta sitten
  • discusting when players lick their hand or solething before throw

    trollipojutrollipoju2 kuukautta sitten
    • He's blowing on his fingers to dry them off, since wet fingers can cause the disc to slip out of your grip. Some players use chalk- or clay-filled bags as well, but at the last second before a throw, a number of players do this blowing technique to make sure their fingers are staying dry.

      John MaherJohn Maher2 kuukautta sitten
  • CTP

    Joey VelaJoey Vela2 kuukautta sitten
  • Body language said alot there. "Almost got the ace,,,,, and this disc is ruined."

    loopedmessloopedmessVuosi sitten
  • I know literally nothing about this sport, but it would be kinda cool if they allowed that to count, seeing as part of the disc is, in fact, within the bucket and at rest.

    Blood Bath and Beyond - Pop Goes Metal CoversBlood Bath and Beyond - Pop Goes Metal Covers2 vuotta sitten
    • It would be cool, but even if the disc passed all the way through and ended up completely in the basket, it would not count. It has to go over the top of the basket to count.

      PapigringoPapigringoUukausi sitten
  • That POP though lol

    ChamberlainChamberlain2 vuotta sitten
  • What if it slipped through the cage and into the basket? Would that have counted?

    Mr JAMBAMr JAMBA3 vuotta sitten
    • @18bigegan I'm pretty sure that you shouldn't have to be psychic to play disc golf, so yes, you can't record what you can't see.

      seymourglass26seymourglass262 kuukautta sitten
    • @mosk11tto I think PDGA rule says that if no one actually sees how it entered, then benefit goes to the player and it would count. But if that's changed, someone correct me

      18bigegan18bigeganVuosi sitten
    • @thediscgolfguy but what if it was a blind hole and no one saw what happened

      mosk11ttomosk11ttoVuosi sitten
    • thediscgolfguy good to know, thanks!

      Mr JAMBAMr JAMBA3 vuotta sitten
    • Ryan Hogarth - nope. Must go over the basket and go in to count.

      thediscgolfguythediscgolfguy3 vuotta sitten
  • McWedge

    Mucho ArigatoMucho Arigato3 vuotta sitten
  • Re run... letz see that barbsy ace though.

    Mike WestMike West3 vuotta sitten
  • The only disc I've seen enter a basket from the side is a 10m brick. A steady ed could probably do it too. Wicked shot Paul!

    Ukelay13Ukelay133 vuotta sitten
  • This sort of instance used to count years ago, so long as you retrieved your disc while it was still stuck in the side. If it fell out and onto the ground however, you'd be tapping in your 2. This would lead to players running down the fairway to grab their disc as soon as possible. Good stuff, but I'm glad they changed the rule later.

    nomoresignupspleasenomoresignupsplease3 vuotta sitten
    • @Monte Cheatham how would it count now? The rule says it has to break the plain between the top rim of the basket and bottom of the band. Since the disc didn't break that plain, it wouldn't count

      18bigegan18bigeganUukausi sitten
    • @Springy Sloth11 this woulda counted now

      Monte CheathamMonte CheathamUukausi sitten
    • @seymourglass26 this counts now

      Monte CheathamMonte CheathamUukausi sitten
    • @seymourglass26 you could say you're AT home. But you wouldn't say you're IN your home would ya? Tho i do agree, that should count

      Colinator4321Colinator4321Uukausi sitten
    • seymourglass26 you know what, that’s a fantastic point. I love how I can find a reply from a day ago on a comment that’s been completely dormant for 3 years.

      Springy Sloth11Springy Sloth112 kuukautta sitten
  • I remember around 2008, on the PDGA forums there was a big controversy whether or not a shot like that would count as holed out because after all, it was suspended by the basket. Apparently it doesn't count ;)

    I Own Me - You Own YouI Own Me - You Own You3 vuotta sitten
  • I am sorry, that is still an ace in my books, it was being held by the basket. I have won money with a skip ace like that.

    PizzaGodPizzaGod3 vuotta sitten
    • @PizzaGod What is this then? A Disc Wedged in Cage...DWIC?

      James SatchwillJames Satchwill2 kuukautta sitten
    • @James Satchwill Disc Resting On Top The debate for years was if a disc that landed on top of the basket was considered in our out. Of course it was never considered in, but there where people who felt it should be. As I pointed out above, it use to be as long as the disc was supported below the chain assembly or the basket, even stuck in the side, it was considered holing out. Now if you even punch though the side of the basket, it is not considered in, I 100% disagree with that.

      PizzaGodPizzaGod2 kuukautta sitten
    • @PizzaGod Whats a DROT?

      James SatchwillJames Satchwill2 kuukautta sitten
    • However, when I hit that ace in the 90, that was playing by the rules. The rule of the disc having to be on the inside of the basket is still new to me, been playing for 30 years.

      PizzaGodPizzaGod3 vuotta sitten
    • I am just old school, been playing for 30 years. You know back when this was considered an ace before they changed the rule. (that I do not agree with) Back then, our biggest argument was a DROT.

      PizzaGodPizzaGod3 vuotta sitten
  • It would be so cool to have you guys try our course here at riverbend in roseburg oregon or wistlers bend outside of roseburg oregon id love to meet you guys and play a round

    Red NeckRed Neck3 vuotta sitten
  • I was right there to see that happen

    Evan GouldEvan Gould3 vuotta sitten
    • I wasn’t there.

      Nothree PuttsNothree PuttsUukausi sitten
    • I went there

      FreshWakeProductionsFreshWakeProductionsUukausi sitten
    • I'm over here now. . .

      -RAM- M-RAM- MUukausi sitten
    • I was over there

      Cornerstone MinistryCornerstone MinistryUukausi sitten
    • Congrats? 🤣

      Christian HeapsChristian HeapsUukausi sitten
  • respect but where's greg barby's ace for real

    Ryan FilegarRyan Filegar3 vuotta sitten
    • Ryan Filegar - unfortunately there isn't a camera on every group on every hole. It would have been great to get it.

      thediscgolfguythediscgolfguy3 vuotta sitten
  • lol thanks

    Elite JdElite Jd3 vuotta sitten
  • New golfers never believe me when I tell them there's a rule regarding this. Glad it was caught on film!

    fencesfoilfencesfoil3 vuotta sitten
    • @idlehands1111111111 Lol, imagine telling someone you don't know on the internet how to play on their own time for fun.

      JeremyJeremyUukausi sitten
    • The rules don’t change just because it’s a random game, still a bird.

      idlehands1111111111idlehands1111111111Uukausi sitten
    • This actually happened to me this year

      Tory CaswellTory CaswellUukausi sitten
    • A disc supported by the target for the hole being played is not subject to the two-meter rule.

      NoahNoah2 kuukautta sitten
    • @Face Dude, watch the video. He literally placed his marker and dropped in.

      seymourglass26seymourglass262 kuukautta sitten
  • That is insane.

    Brian RoweBrian Rowe3 vuotta sitten
  • First like

    Lance HiltonLance Hilton3 vuotta sitten